loading ...
spinner

Birthplace of Brother Klaus

Type
Historical Site
Birthplace of Brother Klaus
×

Niklaus von Flüe, otherwise known as Brother Klaus, was born in or around 1417 in Flüeli (Sachseln municipality) and died on 21 March 1487 in nearby Ranft. Brother Klaus is regarded as the patron saint of Switzerland, a mystic and a hermit.

The house in which he was born has an eventful past. The late medieval log structure was converted into a semi-detached house in 1425, which gave it its present floor plan. Since fragments of the foundations of an earlier small building were found in the cellar, it can rightly be assumed that Niklaus von Flüe was born in this house in 1417.

The property was kept in Brother Klaus's family until 1729, whereupon it was disposed of outside the family and divided into three. It was acquired by a foundation, the Kapellenstiftung Flüeli-Ranft, in the latter half of the 19th century and from 1875 to 1910 used as a school. A complete restoration in 1925 sought to restore the building to its original character using old timber. The furniture and fittings were intended to instil in visitors a sense of how life was back in Niklaus von Flüe's day. Those aims were largely respected during the most recent restoration in 1999/2000.

Opening hours
May to September
Monday to Friday, 9.30 a.m.–noon and 1.30–5 p.m.
Saturday, 9.30 a.m.–5 p.m. / Sunday, 10.30 a.m.–5 p.m.

April and October
Monday to Saturday, 10 a.m.–noon and 1.30–4 p.m.
Sunday, 10.30 a.m.–noon and 1.30–4 p.m.

November to March
By prior arrangement

loading ...
spinner

Bruder Klaus Geburtshaus

Typ
Historische Stätte
Bruder Klaus Geburtshaus
×

Niklaus von Flüe alias Bruder Klaus wurde um 1417 im Flüeli (Gemeinde Sachseln) geboren und ist am 21.März 1487 im nahegelegenen Ranft gestorben. Bruder Klaus gilt als Landesvater, Mystiker und Einsiedler.

Das Geburtshaus hat eine wechselvolle Geschichte hinter sich. Der spätmittelalterliche Blockbau erhielt um 1425 mit dem Umbau und der Erweiterung in ein Doppelhaus den heutigen Grundriss. Da im Keller Fragmente der Grundmauern eines kleinen Vorgängerbaus gefunden wurden, kann mit Recht angenommen werden, dass Niklaus von Flüe 1417 in diesem Haus geboren wurde.

Das Geburtshaus wurde bis 1729 in der Familie des Bruder Klaus vererbt. Dann kam es in fremde Hände und wurde in drei Teile geteilt. In der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts kaufte die Kapellenstiftung Flüeli-Ranft das Haus zurück. Von 1875 bis 1910 diente es als Schulhaus. In einer Gesamtrestauration wurde 1925 versucht, das Gebäude mittels alten Holzes wieder auf seine ursprüngliche Form zurückzuführen. Die Ausstattung möchte dem Besucher die Wohnkultur zurzeit von Niklaus von Flüe nahe bringen. Dieser Zustand wurde bei der jüngsten Restauration von 1999/2000 weitgehend respektiert.

Öffnungszeiten

Mai bis September
Montag bis Freitag, 9.30–12.00 Uhr und 13.30–17.00 Uhr
Samstag, 9.30–17.00 Uhr / Sonntag, 10.30–17.00 Uhr

April und Oktober
Montag bis Samstag, 10.00–12.00 Uhr und 13.30–16.00 Uhr
Sonntag, 10.30–12.00 Uhr und 13.30–16.00 Uhr

November bis März
auf Anfrage